Skip to content

Pump iron, anyone?

December 27, 2015

One of the things I have always enjoyed through the years is weight lifting. I am a recreational lifter, meaning I do not compete as a professional weight lifter. I really enjoy the benefits it affords me both physically and mentally, so I do it for fun and at times even for need. No, I am not a professional trainer, just someone who has always personally enjoyed lifting. As a matter of fact, if you take a peek at my profile you’ll see that exercise physiology is one of my current interests in college. Health education, fitness and nutrition; I think those kind of fall together like ‘peas in a pod’!

When someone declares, “I lift weights”, usually the initial mental picture formed is that of huge rippling muscles! Well, yes, there are some individuals that go for that, but not most. I worked in the ‘patient care’ field for many years, and let me tell you… pulling, pushing and lifting regular/overweight individuals on an every day basis can wreak havoc on your body if you don’t take care of it! I found myself lifting weights at times just to keep from getting injured. Weak muscles will cause you to be more prone to injury, whereas stronger muscles will help maintain just about any rigorous task you submit your body to.

So, remember that keeping your body healthy and strong, does not mean you have to look like the ‘Hulk’! Even though there are days that you may feel like him!

From → The Wife's Side

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

