Skip to content

My Box-less Christmas Gift

December 25, 2014

I don’t want a box under the tree with my name on it. I don’t want more material things. Life has taught me that none of those things really matter. Would I rather have something a box can hold? Or something a box can’t possibly contain? I’m not a Grinch, I’m just a life-fanatic.

I want my family to be alive, healthy, and here with me; Christmas morning, and every day. I want to hear the sound of my children’s laughter. I want to feel my little boy’s tiny hands slip around my neck while offering a cold Kool-aid kiss on my cheek. I want to wrap my oldest kids in a bear hug, still in awe that I have to look up to see their beautiful faces, because they have grown so much over the years.

Can you put that in a box for my Christmas gift? No? Then, I don’t want it.

I want to hear my parents voice over the phone on Christmas morning, making me feel like a child again because of their sweet concern for me. All the while making plans for the next vacation time we will get to see each other. I want to hear that my extended family are doing well, and that with their respective families they are happy, safe, loved, and warm. I want to hear that my old friends, and my new friends, are well, safe, and loved.

Can you put that in a box for my Christmas gift? No? Then, I don’t want it.

I want to lay my head on my Husband’s chest, and hear the sweet sound of life slowly melting my cares away.  I want his touch, his kiss, his love… Christmas morning, and every day there after. I want to wake up to him saying ‘Good morning and Merry Christmas darlin’ in his alluringly deep voice, and then ‘Good night darling, I hope you had a wonderful Christmas’. I want to continue enjoying the thrill of making love to him on Christmas, and any other day; humbled, and privileged that I have been his wife, lover, and friend for the past twenty years.

Can you put that in a box for my Christmas gift? No? Then, I don’t want it.

This Christmas my heart is overjoyed, and thankful for the all the gifts I have that cannot possibly be put in a box. These are the true Christmas gifts I want. The gifts my heart would desperately yearn for, if I did not have them. For now… I rejoice because I do have them, and I will indulge myself in the sweetness of that joy. I will not compromise, or hold back; and my prayer is that those around me can learn to do the same, never taking these box-less gifts for granted, so as not to have any regrets.

Here’s to you, and all of your beautiful box-less gifts, on this wonderful Christmas day!!!

Sandra

From → The Wife's Side

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

