Skip to content

The Promise

September 20, 2012

In the Quiet of the night as I watch you sleep

I reminisce over my past

Vivid images of a boy broken and alone

With no one to hear him cry

A fatherless child and a tear soaked pillow

Each tear fell down like rain

A promise is broken

Another birthday is missed

The lies my father told me

Within that moment I made you a promise

While wiping the tears from my eyes

A forgotten son realized the type of father he would be

It was in that moment I first promised to love you

Before you were even born

As I watch you sleep I recall those tears

I remember every promise that was broken

Those memories echo in my consciousness

They caution and encourage me to keep my promise

By E.D. Armstrong

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

